Tuesday, 19 January 2016

Gbolahan Salami wins first edition of Rashidi Yekini's NPFL Golden Boot Award, see other list of winners

Hardwork they say must always pay off..and that is the story of Nigeria footballer Gbolahan Salami nicknamed "Nigeria Balotelli". who finished the 2014/2015 NPFL season as the highest goalscorer with 17 goals thereby confirming him as the winner of the newly
introduced Rashi Yekini's by the League Management Company. A big kudos to him

On 12 May 1990 at the Onikan Stadium Lagos, the league was rechristened the "Professional League" with a goal to modernize the game and make clubs self-sufficient.
The highest goal scorer award was also instituted as the league was rebranded as Nigeria Professional Football League, it was Ishaya Jatau of the then Iwuanyanwu Nationale (now Heartland FC) of Owerri that set the first record of 17 goals. It took another long 20 years before the jinx was broken by Ahmed Musa of Kano Pillars (who now plays for CSKA Moscow of Russia) in 2009/2010 season with 18 goals. Just a year after, Jude Aneke raised the bar again with 20 goals. Just three years after Mfon Udoh of Enyimba set another the new goal record as he finished the season with an impressive 23 goals.

In the 2014/2015 NPFL season the LMC renamed the award as Rashidi Yekini’s highest goalscorer award in honour of the late Nigeria football legend Rashidi Yekini who scored Nigeria’s first ever world cup goal in USA 1994 FIFA World Cup and still remains Super Eagles of Nigeria all-time record goal scorer with 37 goals in 58 appearances(or international cap from 1983-1998) .
Gbolahan Salami of Warri Wolves won the first ever Rashidi Yekini’s award for the highest goal scorer in 2014/2015 season after he finished with 17 goals scoring two goals on the final day against Taraba FC.
See below the list of top scorer from 1990 till date:

  • 1990 -Ishaya Jatau (Iwuanyanwu Nationale), 17 goals
  • 1991 -Richard Ojomo (Bendel United), 12 goals
  • 1992 -Arthur Moses (Super Stores), 10 goals
  • 1993-Tony Nwigwe (Iwuanyanwu Nationale), 13 goals
  • 1994-Olumide Harris (Shooting Stars), 14 goals
  • 1995-Ben Agadah (Gombe United), 12 goals
  • 1996-Peter Anyiolobi (Enyimba), 9 goals
  • 1997-Paul Kpoughoul (Jasper United/BCC Lions), 16 goals
  • 1998-Hassan Minda (Gombe United), 14 goals
  • 1999-Emmanuel Agbo (Iwuanyanwu Nationale), 14 goals
  • 2000-Peter Ijeh (Julius Berger), 14 goals
  • 2001-Uche Okereke (Enugu Rangers), 13 goals
  • 2002-Joetex Frimpong (El-Kanemi), Victor Ezeji (Dolphins), 16 goals
  • 2003-Chibuzor Ozurumba (Iwuanyanwu Nationale), Endurance Idahor (Julius Berger) 12 goals apiece
  • 2004-Kabiru Alausa (Julius Berger) 13 goals
  • 2005-Timothy Anjembe (Lobi Stars), Joseph Akpala (Insurance), Charles Omokaro (Sharks FC), 12 goals each
  • 2005/2006- Ibenegbu Ikechukwu (El Kanemi), 10 goals
  • 2006/2007 - Ameh Aruwa (Kaduna United), 10 goals
  • 2007/2008 - Abubakar Babale (Wikki Tourist/Sunshine Stars), 14 goals
  • 2008/2009 - Akarandut Orok (Akwa United), 17 goals
  • 2009/2010 - Ahmed Musa (Kano Pillars), 18 goals (New NPFL Record)
  • 2010/2011 – Jude Aneke (Kaduna United), 20 goals (New NPFL Record)
  • 2011/2012 – Sibi Gwar (Niger Tornadoes), 17 goals
  • 2012/2013 – Victor Namo (Nasarawa United), 18 goals
  • 2013/2014 – Mfon Udoh (Enyimba FC), 23 goals (New NPFL Record)
  • 2014/2015 – Gbolahan Salami (Warri Wolves FC), 17 goals

No comments:

Post a Comment